Guest Reviews

What people say

Over the years we have worked hard to create a country house hotel that’s intimate, relaxing and welcoming. Intimate in design and size, relaxing in ambience and surroundings, and welcoming because, well, that’s just the way we do things.

We invite all our guests to leave a review, here’s a small selection of our Lincoln hotel reviews…

Picturesque & Quaint

...the location both picturesque and quaint was perfect for a wedding, everything was perfect and ran like clockwork, the waitresses were very attentive and nothing was to much trouble, the food was out of this world with the chef Harry cooking a treat fit for royalty, nothing was a burden and Helen looked after all our needs, she was amazing, the buffet all I can say is the pork terrine was to die for, and again the next day breakfast was out of this world and the young waitress was professional and attentive she never stopped always there supplying us with whatever we asked for.

I would I recommend Washingborough Hall absolutely 100% over and over again, so get your wedding booked you will not regret it and you will remember your day forever. Thankyou Lucy and your excellent team 

Tripadvisor Review - 28/10/2020
Five Star

I visited this fabulous hotel for my partners birthday. The staff was so welcoming and could not do enough for you. The rooms are stunning and the food was out of this world. I could not recommend a better place to stay. It should be a 5 star hotel.

Tripadvisor Review - 20/02/2020
An Oasis of Calm

Just a really great place run by management with high standard who obviously create great morale amongst their staff to deliver a first class guest experience. Stylish, upmarket, traditional with a odern twist 'Washy' as it is affectionately called ticks all the boxes. Hats off to the brigade in the kitchen as we had a fantastic meal. Fine dining is often 'anything but', however, these guys really know their stuff and place emphasis on great local produce cooked to perfection. Super comfy rooms and just what we needed away from the madness of London and The South. Covid rules scrupurously observed which mad everyone feel realxed and comfortable. 

Tripadvisor Review - 14/09/2020
Just What We Needed

This lovely hotel was just what we needed after months of lockdown. Welcoming, comfortable and relaxing. Absolutely loved it. The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. The food was superb served in a stunning restaurant - just perfect. Bed was comfortable and room quiet - good nights sleep both nights. Would thoroughly recommend and want to return.

Tripadvisor Review - 21/09/2020
So Relaxing!

Where do I even begin! I had my wedding at Washingborough Hall this weekend, and my god, it could not have been anymore perfect if anybody tried.

From start to finish Lucy and her team were so attentive, everything was sorted when we arrived on Friday evening, there was not a thing I needed to chase, which made everything SO relaxing!

The food was top class, everything was arranged and chosen to suit our taste (which was good because we’re the fussiest pair around!), the chef really pulled out all the stops, all of our guests thought the food was beautiful and loved our personalised menu!

The whole weekend was so special, intimate and I wouldn’t have changed it for the huge wedding I had planned beforehand should I have had the choice! Thank you so much Lucy and Co...I know you will continue to make other couples dreams come true, just like you did ours

Mr & Mrs Thacker - 28/09/2020
A Day We'll Remember Forever

Lucy and the staff at the Hall went beyond the call of duty to give us a day to remember. Nothing was too much trouble, the service was first class, the safety measures made us all feel very safe and the food was out of this world. We could not have asked for anything better. Our heartfelt thanks to Lucy and the team for a day we'll remember forever

Tripadvisor Review - 22/10/2020
Cooked to Perfection

I've stayed in hotels all around the world and tasted food from Michelin star chefs but this was ALOT better. The souffle was mouth watering and the steaks were cooked to perfection.

Tripadvisor Review - 30/08/2020
Fantastic Meal

Hats off to the brigade in the kitchen as we had a fantastic meal. Fine dining is often 'anything but', however, these guys really know their stuff and place emphasis on great local produce cooked to perfection.

Tripadvisor Review - 15/09/2020
Beautifully Presented

A wonderful relaxed afternoon tea which was beautifully presented with gorgeous vintage china. The food was absolutely scrumptious and plenty of it!! The waitress/ waiter service was highly professional & we did not feel rushed at all. Social distancing if the tables made you feel safe & comfortable. Thank you!

Tripadvisor Review - 05/10/2020
Utterly Divine

Stunning surroundings and a well presented dining room. We were made to feel welcome from start to finish. Requests for our 4 year old were accommodated wonderfully. The food was utterly divine! Thank you to the chef. We enjoyed 3 courses and coffee. (The 4 year old didn’t want to leave!) The canapés to start were an added bonus. Thanks to all at Washy Hall, we can’t wait to visit again soon 

Tripadvisor Review - 12/10/2020
Fantastic Sunday Lunch

Went with my wife and another couple for Sunday lunch having previously visited and been impressed then. I have to say the standards are still very high and food and service first class. Special mention to the chefs as the food was some of the best I have tasted. Cannot wait to book again and will be back next year for my daughters wedding.

14/02/2019
Lovely Afternoon Tea

We had a great visit today, my husbands work colleagues had treated us to afternoon tea for his 50th birthday, it was just lovely, soft relaxing music playing in the background and the food was delicious.

Claire S - 23/07/2019
Great Hotel!

The hotel is welcoming and relaxing with helpful staff both professional and friendly. My room had a very comfortable bed and a luxurious bathroom which was squeaky clean.

Lunch and dinner were outstanding; a varied seasonal menu using locally sourced produce and vegetables cooked to perfection; desserts to die for and a great selection of cheeses. Breakfast for me included home made granola, fruit salad and pastries which were delicious.Great for those of us who skip the full English although it did look very appetising.

I particularly appreciated the attention to detail such as the fabulous home made bread and lovely extra touches such as chocolates, fudge and Turkish delight.

Lucy and Edward are superb hosts and worked incredibly hard to ensure my stay was a truly memorable one for all the very best reasons!

Judy B
Charming In Every Way

A quite splendid stay and we could not have wished for more. Friendly and efficient staff, delightful surroundings and excellent bar and dining facilities. We are sorry that we do not have an excuse to return. We loved every aspect and it is but a short drive to Lincoln City and its magnificent Cathedral.

Daven
Fantastic Treat

The Washingborough was a fantastic treat and completely different to the regular chain hotels. This boasts antique furnishings, interesting paintings and quirky sitting areas. We just loved our stay and every single member of staff went out of their way to make it enjoyable. Big thanks to all.

Lou Maythorne - 16/05/2019
Amazing!

We couldn't have wished for a better venue and Amy the director of romance made sure everything went smoothly.. nothing was too much trouble. She offered advice on suppliers, got back to our endless emails and hundreds of questions! Everyone commented on how wonderful the food was and the staff were extremely attentive. We had exclusive use of the venue and all our guests commented on the rooms and how gorgeous the grounds were. We can't wait to visit again x

Helen Payne - 13/09/2019
Washy Hall is just outstanding!

Washingborough Hall was our dream wedding venue, and everyone went above and beyond to ensure everything was perfect! We had full exclusivity of the venue meaning we got the top standard service from start to finish and Amy is outstanding at her job, she is an absolute credit to the hotel. We had the best days of our life and i would pay it all again to experience the same day. All of our guests were commenting on how amazing the food was too, we will be back for a meal just to relive the culinary experience. We cannot thank the staff enough for the care and love they all put into their jobs, even mopping the floor multiple times during our rather zealous disco dancing, they looked happy to be there! If anyone is looking to book their wedding here, just do it, dont ask questions its by far the best venue for the job, trust us! Overall Washy Hall is just outstanding!

Annette Stoner
Everything Was Perfect

We had our wedding weekend at Washingborough Hall, with a family meal on the Friday and wedding on the Saturday - everything was perfect. From the minute we booked Washingborough 2 years prior, Amy was on hand to help with anything, calming my nerves and guiding us through every step - Amy is an absolute star and made the wedding planning as smooth as possible. The staff at Washingborough are so welcoming & polite and were absolutely amazing on the day. The attention to detail at Washingborough is perfect and no ask is too big for the staff. The food was fantastic and all our guests were commenting about the food, staff & exclusivity of the venue. If you are currently considering Washingborough Hall as a venue, just book it - you honestly wont regret it. It was the most perfect day & we cant wait to visit for our anniversaries. Thank you Washingborough Hall for making our dreams come true. Love, The Colemans x

Jessica Coleman - 30/09/2019
  • Best available rates
  • Free upgrades where possible
  • Book now, pay later
  • Secure payment gateway
Book Now
Book Direct
best-loved
trip
uk-heritage
sawdays
taste-of-excellence-hotel
taste-of-excellence-wedding
taste-of-excellence-restaurant
wedding-dates
britains_finest_blue_stamp[1]
Hotels Combined
Good to go logo
AA-COVID-Confident-logo-RGB-72dpi-web-small
Travelers' Choice 2020